Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Gratitude keeps us in the present.

Port Townsend, WA wharf. (Hadi Dadashian)

Present in Port Townsend, WA. (Hadi Dadashian photo)

There could be chaos all about, yet gratitude is grounding.

Giving thanks.

It’s as simple as taking a deep, mental breath and centering on why we’re grateful.

In a long moment of calm, it may be a list.

My top gratitudes:  My lover, good health, fulfilling work, and happy, heart-pumping exercise.

And sweet writing, always the writing.

In a fleeting moment, one word can focus gratitude:  This.  I am most grateful for this.

Whatever “this” is.

Gratitude can turn the most negative emotions around, can distill fear and anger and frustration in a moment.

Giving thanks in the moment, for the moment.

Gratitude always makes me more present.  It’s a way of focusing when my mental lens is blurred, when anxiety takes the sharp edges off the moment and makes me spin off into some unknown future, fraught with worry.

No worries, just gratitude.

I am grateful for this.

