Tags

, , , , ,

Swiss-Italian composer Ivo Antognini and I connected over music and many miles.

Parksville, B.C. (Kathleen Kenna photo)

Thinking of Canada: Georgia Strait. (Kathleen Kenna photo)

When I first heard his work at a church in Canada, I wrote about being moved by the sublime.

This month, Antognini’s work is being performed in France and the U.S., and another of his world premieres has reached me while we are mourning the loss of a friend.

Antognini melds the poetry of Christina Rossetti (1830-1894) with music designed for the pure voice.

Please enjoy this a cappella version of Dream Land, performed for the first time by the East Carolina University Chamber Singers.

“Rest, rest, for evermore … sleep that no pain shall wake,” Rossetti wrote.

Listen to her work revived with music, and you’ll know why I use the word sublime when writing about Ivo Antognini.

I am grateful that his music reaches around the world to touch many, especially when we have lost a musician.

In memoriam:  Greg Quill.

