Tags

, , , , , ,

Northern California trillium, in redwood forest. (Hadi Dadashian photo)

Northern California trillium in redwoods. (Hadi Dadashian photo)

For decades in the east, trilliums in the woods were the most exciting sign of spring.

They always speak to me of my childhood, and my grandfather, rumbling about in Northern Ontario forests. (I fished with him there for years, so these are always sweet memories.)

In the west, trilliums aren’t as common.

So spying that familiar white blossom in Northern California this week was pure joy.

Trilliums! In a redwood forest!

Northern CA redwoods. (Hadi Dadashian photo)

Redwoods, Jedediah Smith State Park, Northern CA. (Hadi Dadashian photo)

My gratitude is larger than centuries-old trees.

 

Please feed my spring nostalgia!

Send photos of your trilliums and a few words about why they delight, and I’ll post them here, with full credit. Thanks! 

 

