Tags

, , , , ,

living in gratitude©

living in gratitude©

I’m grateful for the best job interview in my life because:

1.  I was treated like a professional, and interviewed by professionals.

2.  There was a written notice every step of the way, including: (a) you’re being considered for this job; (b) you’re getting an interview, so pick a time.

3.   I was advised to arrive early to review prepared questions. Every one was a good test of my knowledge, skills and training. Each required solid case studies and clinical experience.

4.  I was treated with respect. The atmosphere was so welcoming that I was at ease quickly. This is key, because job interviews are often filled with anxiety, and that’s not the best way to elicit thoughtful answers. (I was a job counselor for years.)

I am writing this because I am one of the “LTUs” in America.

Long-term unemployed.

Not by choice.

I am writing this because I’ve had more job interviews in the past few months than I have had in three years of joblessness.

This is encouraging; it proves the economy is improving.

I’m grateful for this.  It still feels like a recession to me — trying not to panic about being jobless at 59 — and interviews are getting more and more demanding for less pay/benefits/professional ethics.

I think of this time in America as a psychological recession, because so many people have been wounded by un/under-employment and the fallout of bank failures, mortgage fraud, home foreclosures and more. (Unofficial estimate of jobless Americans: 25 million.)

It’s not easy, but I am truly grateful to be a witness in this time, in this place.

I am learning how people treat each other when times are really tough.

So thanks for the best job interview in my life. You gave me hope.

Thank you for informing me that I didn’t get the job.

Truly.

Most employers don’t even bother.

Buoyed by the best job interview in my life, I am more hopeful than ever.

Kathleen Kenna is seeking full-time employment as a rehabilitation counselor. Please contact her through LinkedIn.

