Tags

, , , , , ,

November apples, Southern Oregon. (Kathleen Kenna photo)

November apples, Southern Oregon. (Kathleen Kenna photo)

I have my own private running track.

I have my own private track where I run in place.

I only run in my dreams, because my disability bars me from running.

In my dreams, I can run and run.

Awake, I walk and walk and walk.

I’m grateful for every movement, in daylight and in nightdreams, because I am alive.

I feel more fully alive in motion, always have, no matter my abilities.

I have my own private running track, an oval of dirt less than a block from our apartment, at the local public school.

The track is always open. Sometimes, boys play football there. Usually, I just meet neighbors with their dogs, tracing the oval, ’round and ’round, until owner or pet tires of the monotony and they go off to play.

Douglas fir and apple tree, late Nov. (Kathleen Kenna photo)

Douglas fir and apple tree, late Nov. (Kathleen Kenna photo)

I am enjoying “my” track in all seasons, marveling at the green apples in the trees, surrounded by big, Douglas firs.

I am blessed here by warm sun and blue sky, nearing December.

Everywhere I look, it’s green.

