Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I am on a ferry surging across the Georgia Strait, giving thanks.

Georgia Strait, B.C. (Kathleen Kenna photo)

Georgia Strait, B.C., from ferry deck. (Kathleen Kenna photo)

I am giving thanks for everything, from the smallest wonder to the greatest joy.

I am giving thanks for everyone in my life, after a week of reunion with family and long-time friends. I’ve been well-fed, and pampered with love. I’ve slept well in warm, cosy beds.

My daily “gratitudes” grow with every moment on this journey; I am blessed.

We live in a time of great bounty, yet not everyone shares.

Record numbers of Americans are on food stamps. There is no “welfare”; these are the crumbs we offer our most vulnerable.

An entire country of people within my adopted country — about 50 million — survive on this miserly, taxpayer-funded system.

Every non-profit in the U.S. will tell you it’s not enough; they cannot do enough.

My nephew, sister and brother-in-law answered the need in their suburban community by establishing a non-profit called no one hungry. They redistribute surplus food to children, women, and families in transition.

Several dozen volunteers have joined this grass roots mission, proving to me there are many good people who want to help their neighbors who have less.

Feeding America helps 37 million Americans fighting hunger every year, including 14 million children in all 50 states. Every single dollar donated to this national non-profit is stretched to provide meals for eight families. Auditors assure donors that 97 cents of every $1 goes directly to the hungry.

14 million children without enough food in the richest country. How can we?

AARP has raised half of its $50,000 goal to help 9 million American elders who are struggling with hunger. (Donate through their website.)

It’s also distributing more than $1 million in aid to Hurricane Sandy survivors; the need hasn’t diminished with the arrival of Thanksgiving.

Georgia Strait, B.C. (Kathleen Kenna photo)

Aboard the Coastal Celebration ferry, B.C. (Kathleen Kenna photo)

There’s a holiday in the United States tomorrow to celebrate the harvest, and give thanks for all that we have.

When there are American children going hungry, I cannot feast.

I am thinking of want and hunger, aboard a ferry called Coastal Celebration.

I watch the waves and give thanks for every small wonder.

