Tags

, , , ,

I am grounded in the love of my family, in my homeland.

living in gratitude©

living in gratitude©

Every time I return here, I am filled with gratitude for a love that knows no bounds, bears no conditions.

All families grow and shrink, with time. Mine, thankfully, is ever-expanding.

It has grown from one small place in Canada to gather family in the U.S., Europe and the Middle East.

Marriage does that.

Thankfully, this expanding family is ever-supportive, ever-gracious. I am more keenly appreciative of unconditional love, now, than ever before.

My family has grown to include people I would not have met if I had not traveled, returned to school, changed careers, and traveled some more.

This is a blessing of being childless.

We have very special friends who welcome others from different cultures to their own expanding families. We are always included in their big Thanksgiving feasts and other celebrations. Their cousins become our cousins; we gather their mothers and elder aunts as our own.

I am grateful for their embrace.

My family has grown to include different languages, different countries of origin, different faiths, cultures, and ways of expressing love. Yes, we have differences. On the best days, we celebrate that.

More than anything, this family of mine has grown in love, the most powerful force in my life.

I am grateful for this every moment.

 

 

 

