Tags

, , , , ,

As a new citizen, I’m about to cast my first vote, so I’m wondering what Mitt Romney means when he says it’s not his job to worry about “those people.”

Everyone’s seizing on the 47% Romney cited at that private fund-raiser that Mother Jones has so helpfully publicized.

Since I’m not a “victim”, as Romney callously called the 47%; since I recognize that most U.S. residents pay some kind of taxes (including undocumented workers, by the way); and since I’m not on government assistance, I wonder where he places me and all new voters?

Does he care about us?

I cared enough about this country to spend six years and thousands of dollars on a Green Card, then citizenship, and it pains me to think a man who wants my first vote dismisses almost half the country so swiftly, and with such cruel laughter.

Life in 5 lines or less© appears here every Saturday, wondering about America.

Four reasons I became an American citizen: It’s all about love.

An immigrant gives thanks for becoming an American citizen.

