Tags

, , , , ,

Government statisticians refer to the long-term unemployed and under-employed in this country as “discouraged workers.” Most of us don’t even figure in government jobless numbers.

Resuming my full-time job search this month, I’ve made many new contacts and applied for some good jobs, so I’m encouraged. I’m grateful to have met some incredible people, even if they don’t have openings this moment, and don’t foresee any soon.

Welcoming a new day: Dawn on I-5 this morning. (Kathleen Kenna photo)

Despite national anxiety about this economy, it feels like a brand new day to me.

There aren’t many openings in rehabilitation counseling: Jobs are shrinking while the need increases.

Still, I have hope.

I’ve met many other rehabilitation counselors, in person or online, who have been laid off, downsized, or had to quit jobs because government cutbacks made it impossible to continue in our field.

But we’re not giving up. As a retired colleague used to say, “we’re in the hope business.”

Rehabilitation counselors are resilient, as medical librarian Peter Droese of Boston proves today at Hire Your Neighbor.

Some, like Peter, are born with resilience. The rest of us? I think many of us had to learn it.

