Tags

, , , ,

If we don’t stand up for each other, then what do we stand for?

If we don’t stand up when someone is attacking our neighbor, then when do we stand up?

I stand against bullies.

I stand against those who would ruin good people for their own selfish ends.

I stand against those in power who use their office to hurt the innocent.

People like Michele Bachmann, an elected representative of this country, a woman elected to uphold the freedoms we all hold dear.

When Bachmann and others in Congress use the weight of their office to make baseless attacks against a woman whose name and faith arouses their ire/suspicion/envy/whatever (who can know?), then those who are concerned about justice and fairness must protest.

I don’t know Huma Abedin, but I have met Hillary Clinton, and I trust her.

I trust the background checks to which Huma Abedin and Hillary Clinton and all others in public service must undergo. (Having undergone such U.S. background checks many times for work visas, White House credentials, for a Green Card, employment in social services/government, etc., I can attest that they’re very, very thorough.)

I understand First Amendment rights in this country allow such unrestrained attacks.

But I don’t believe my taxes should support politicians who have forgotten what freedom truly means. (I would support a tax-funded course on comparative religions, however, for Republican politicians conducting McCarthy-era witch hunts.)

I’m with Senator John McCain, Republican stalwart, who criticized Bachmann for “scurrilous attacks” on an American citizen.  He knows Abedin too; now, he’s being attacked by other Republicans who don’t see anything wrong with Bachmann’s bullying.

I am grateful for First Amendment rights in this country, so I call on Bachmann to do the right thing by her country and her constitution: Apologize to Huma Abedin.

The Minnesota congresswoman should apologize too, to Muslim Americans for baseless attacks on their faith, and culture.

