Tags

, , , , ,

Love to travel; have to travel; am grateful for every trip and every opportunity to travel.

But there’s a deeper gratitude for meeting other travelers and learning of their journeys.

Today, I’m keenly grateful for the Azores, a place I’ve yearned to visit because one of its daughters has spread such wonder about the place.

I’m lured by islands and the edges of places, and there is something precious about their people.

My friend has a name that sounds like poetry; she married a poet; she speaks and writes like a poet.  And her photographs are poetry.

The spirit of the Azores is in her art, however she expresses herself (we call her “Martha” because her crafts and imagination rival that Stewart woman).

When you read about her native home, and see her photos, you’ll be captured by a place my friend calls Garden of Eden:  gardens of Furnas.

